Wichita Mountains Wildlife Refuge

If you live in the Oklahoma area, the Wichita Mountains are a great place to get out and explore. I was feeling slightly claustrophobic, stuck in my bubble and missing travel. It was so so great to see new views, and mountains again. There are plenty of hiking trails and mountains to pick from, but I went up Elk Mountain.

20161021_131935

20161021_131450

20161021_131452

20161021_132105   The climb wasn’t that bad. It started out really easy and then got a little more difficult toward the summit. But it is an Oklahoma mountain, not a Colorado or Germany mountain. Also, watch out for all the cacti. And rattlesnakes. (I kid you not, I was centimeters from stepping on a 5 ft long rattlesnake and it was very assertive in expressing it’s unhappiness towards me. I don’t want to say I almost died, but one could make a case for that.)

20161021_123850

If you have no desire to hike, there’s still plenty of wildlife to see and enjoy. Tons of cute little groundhogs, huge longhorns and buffalo (bison?). Since it is a wildlife refuge, the animals are pretty much allowed to roam free. Longhorns and buffalo cross the road in front of cars. The thing I was the most exited about was seeing a buffalo. The whole time, I never saw one buffalo and I was leaving slightly disappointed about that. But then, as the exit fast approached, a buffalo (bison?) crossed the road right in front of me. I like to think it was a bonding moment between us.

20161021_155508

20161021_155503

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

