Italy pt. 1 | Rome

Allow me to preface this post by saying that I have been to Rome twice, and both times my experiences were not great. It is not, and probably never will be my favourite place- and I will most likely not return. I won’t state the reasons because I don’t want to push anyone away from going, as it is a good place to experience (and some people who go really do love it). And that’s the thing about travelling- you win some and you lose some. You won’t meet a traveler who says they love every place they’ve been, but at the same time you won’t meet one who isn’t thankful for the experiences of those places either. My advice is to listen to other’s stories, but don’t let it scare you away from going to a place you really want to go. (Also my advice on Rome, should you wish to take it, is do not go in the summer if you can avoid it.) I honestly hate that I didnt enjoy my time in Rome, I wanted to love it so badly and I felt guilty about that not happening. So have your own experiences, then decide for yourself. Be unafraid, that’s what travelling the world is all about.

So without further ado, I give you Rome.

 

Coloseum and Roman Forum

IMG_20160629_171911

 

20160629_102503

20160629_134052

IMG_20160629_173830

We did go to Vatican City, and the Vatican Museum. I will not write about the museum because it was a horrible experience for me, and I did not take many pictures. Sorry.

Around the City

IMG_20160628_163032

20160629_141441

20160628_152208

20160629_145908

Fontana di TreviĀ 

One thing I really did enjoy is the Trevi Fountain. Even though I’d been to Rome twice, this was my first time to see it. If you are going to go, it really is a must. And then after, some friends and I walked around the city and the Coloseum at night. That was the thing I truly enjoyed about Rome. I would highly recommend wandering at night in this city- but with directions and not too late because it does start to get a little sketchy, if you know what I mean. I think Rome is even better at night, especially in the summer, because it’s not hot or crowded.

20160629_212356

IMG_20160630_105328

Of course my first impression of the Trevi Fountain was “wow it’s a lot bigger in real life”. And of course it’s so beautiful at night when it is lit up, along with the rest of the city. It was a good note to leave on.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

