Another Year Older + New Adventures

My birthday was yesterday, and it was a pretty spectacular one. We trained from Vienna to Munich at 5 in the morning  (!!!), and got there by about 10. So, we had most of the day to navigate Munich. It was pretty stressful at times, given that none of us had been there and we didn’t really know where we were going. Also, it was raining. Which was so lovely and my favourite weather. It’s like they knew I was coming.

20160609_185735

We spent the day in Munich, which is a lovely city (even when it’s pouring and you’ve forgotten your umbrella).

It was my birthday, so naturally I drag everyone to an art museum in Germany. I knew from the beginning that I had to go to the Neue Pinakothek (New Picture Gallery). There are actually three Pinakotheks in Munich, the Neue (new), Alte (old), and the Modern. As much as I love Renaissance (hmmm maybe not love), and Modern (yes) art, the Neue Pinakothek was the one with the most works on my art bucket list (which I’ve crossed a lot off of on this trip). Plus, I knew I couldn’t get away with dragging my family into more than one art museum in one afternoon.

20160609_134502

Turner, von Hess, Delacroix, Millet, Cezanne, Monet, Manet, Picasso, Gauguin, Klimt, Schiele, and yes more van Gogh. I was an extremely happy person.

And since we’d been up since 4 in the morning, coffee was much needed by this point in the day. So after walking around for a surprising amount of time without seeing any coffee shops, we finally found one and ducked inside out of the rain. I got one of the best cups of coffee in my life, and some apple cake (which is far superior to birthday cake, trust me).

 

20160609_143655

And of course, we found our way into the city center and old town.

20160609_154638
Rathaus (town hall)
20160609_152156
Glockenspiel clock on Rathaus 

 

20160609_160413

20160609_152820

20160609_152111

All in all, it was a pretty great day full of new adventures. I can’t wait to see what another year of life will bring, and what other new adventures I’ll be having.

 

One thought on “Another Year Older + New Adventures

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

