#1 | intro

I’ve always been pretty environmentally conscious, living in Canada (one of the most admirably environmentally conscious places I’ve encountered) has planted that seed in my brain. Reduce, reuse, recycle guys.

For the longest time I’ve read all the labels on the backs of the food I buy and been generally pretty conscious and actively made decisions about what to put into my body. Trying really hard to stay away from artificial colours and flavours and sweeteners, and other chemicals because it’s bad for me. But then of course, I read an article… and things went down hill fast. I started realizing that even the bottle of shampoo I buy has an effect on the environment, and the chemicals in the food that I eat don’t just affect me. What other seemingly small things in life do I take for granted that put other’s lives in danger?The clothes I buy were made by someone- are they payed a living wage and work in healthy conditions?

But recently I was made very aware that what I decide to buy and where I buy it from has an impact, and even the smallest of my decisions can make a difference. I’m in no way an expert, but through a lot of research I’ve decided what things I value and what kind of things I want to support with my money- after all money makes the world go ’round. So now I’m going to write some blog posts about it, because waging war against ignorance is something of a personal mission of mine.

I’ll talk about some potentially challenging stuff. I’ll talk about what’s wrong with the food, clothing and beauty industries; and their affects on the environment. I’ll talk about our personal affects on the environment. I’ll talk about my experience with these thing and how I am working to make a difference.

I’ll leave you with a quote by Anna Lappé (sustainable food advocate) that perfectly encompasses this post series and my general thoughts on consumerism:

“Every time you spend money, you’re casting a vote for what kind of world you want.”

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

