Spring Slump pt. 2- Surviving

20160112_154611

Hello everyone. My name is Holly, and I’m taking over Sydney’s blog. Not really, I’m just writing a post because she asked me to. Honestly I’m honored that she wants me to write something that she is going to put on her perfect blog. I’ll try to make it good. 

I decided to write about surviving. That sounds a little extreme, and it’s more about surviving school and the “Spring Slump” as Sydney calls it. I think that’s a perfect name for this time of year. Here are some tips on how to get out of the slump and make it to summer feeling good about the way you finished the year.

First of all, focus on what needs to get done and do it. This is obvious, but there are some ways to get things done more quickly than just sitting around for four hours trying to finish an essay. I personally use something I call the “Half-Hour Method.” (I don’t really call it that, I made that name up just now.) Basically, I set a timer for thirty minutes and I do what I need to do for that amount of time. (Feel free to adjust this time to the amount of time you think is most efficient and productive for you.) After the timer goes off, I move on to something else. I personally think it works a lot better for me than sitting down and trying to complete one thing all the way through for hours and then only getting one thing done in a day. It provides for more variety and I’m able to work a lot more efficiently, I don’t get too bored doing one thing, and I’m able to complete so much more. Now, the downside of this can be that you work on several different things during the day, so sometimes it feels like you aren’t making any progress because nothing gets checked off the to-do list. While this might seem stressful, I think that the work I do get done using this technique is much better quality and I retain any information I read, because I’m not working on it for hours on end.

Tip number 2: Don’t refuse yourself the break you deserve. If you’re exhausted and need to stop working, stop working. Even if it’s just stretching or going outside for fifteen minutes, do it. Decide what you’re going to do and do it for a pre-planned amount time, then go back to the work you need to get done. Don’t think that you can’t ever take a break, even if you don’t think you’ve done anything. Take some time off, but not too much time. Quick breaks are so refreshing and you’ll feel a lot better when you get back to work. Besides, you aren’t getting anything done by just sitting there staring at a screen waiting for the right word to come to your brain, are you? Shut it off and go outside for a minute.

Tip number 3: Don’t reward yourself with sweets. Sweets tend to drag people down, (after that five minute burst of energy) and they don’t do anything for you. You won’t perform as well after the cake, trust me. If you must have food as your reward, eat some fruit. Make a cup of tea, call a friend, or read a poem.

I also suggest figuring out when you work best and the environment you work best in. Of course, if you work best in the library or a coffee shop, that’s great, but you won’t always be able to get to the library. It’s good to acknowledge that, but realize you won’t also get that prime location. Try wearing several different outfits, fixing your hair differently, turning on different music, (or turning off the music entirely) and see what motivates you or inspires you the most to get the maximum amount of work done in the shortest amount of time. Do you work best on your deck? By a window? In the basement where there are no distractions? With or without music? Music with lyrics or no lyrics? Hair in a ponytail or curled and half up? I know that some of these things might sound silly, but the way you look, where you are, etc., can change your level of confidence, which can seriously affect your motivation and the amount of work you get done.

Finally, get inspired. Don’t just take what I say and apply every single thing to your routine and work. Sure, try some of them out if you want, but do a little more research. Read blog posts, get other ideas from other people, and then apply bits and pieces of each to your own life. Make things up for yourself. Basically just apply whatever you want and determine which works out for you and your busy life.

I promise you can get through the spring slump!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

