thoughts from the morning

20160314_151936

There is a phrase I read once ringing through my ears.

“Rather than love, than money, than fame, give me truth.”

This quote from Walden by Henry David Thoreau, however simple, means a lot to me. More than anything, I want to be told the truth. I want honesty, even when it’s brutal. I think honesty is a quality that many people appreciate, but few people have. If I’m doing something wrong, I’d prefer you told me so I can learn. I’m striving to be honest in every aspect. I want to be authentic and honest about myself with other people, and I want others to do the same.

Sometimes people think they need to “shield” me from things because I’m still young, but I don’t want to be lied to or oblivious- no matter how blissful my ignorance seems. I’d rather know what’s going on in the world so I can learn to face it. How will any young person make the world a better place if we are constantly being “shielded” from the real issues? I don’t want you to try and convince me that there is nothing wrong. I know that not everything is rainbows all the time, and because of this I have a passion for helping others.

Sometimes it hurts, but I’d rather have the truth.

 

 

Leave a Reply

