Favourites #3 | Two Things

20150515_124314

  1. People Watching: I acquired this taste while abroad. I love just sitting and watching the people around me, especially while immersed in a culture that isn’t my own. There’s so much you can learn from observing your surroundings, no matter where you are. I guess I also love imagining stories for everyone. Be your own version of Humans of New York. It’s something you can do anywhere. Go to a coffee shop, a park, a bus stop, a museum. We’re always trying to participate, just sit and observe.
  2. Art: I’ve loved art for as long as I can remember. If you are going to any kind of art museum, I’m there. But to tell you the truth, when I was younger, I hated modern art. Over the years, I’ve come to appreciate it almost as much as classical pieces. One of the things I’ve learned from travelling is this: you don’t have to like it, but you have to consider it. The piece of art that you hate has an artist that put their heart into it, and someone else probably loves it just as much as you hate it. I’ve come to find that you can tell a lot about a person based on what kinds of art they enjoy. Go to a museum and find a piece of art you love. Why do you love it? Now find one you hate. Why do you hate it? Art has a strange, yet wonderful, ability to affect people. The artist put their soul into their art, while the people see a bit of their soul in what the artist created. That’s the most wonderful thing- the ability to make people feel something.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

